Bullet and Shell Civil War Projectiles Forum

Author Topic: Korea 1871  (Read 12270 times)

bluelake

• Email
Korea 1871
« on: October 07, 2012, 04:11:50 AM »
This is my first post on this board.  After reading through many of the threads, I'm sorry I didn't find this place before!

Although I am an American, I have lived and worked in Korea for about a quarter-century.  During that time, I became very involved in historical research and even completed my master and doctorate degrees in Korean studies, with emphasis on history.  My main subject of research is the first US military action in Korea, in 1871 (You can visit my site (http://www.shinmiyangyo.org) for more info).  I have been researching it for about 17 years and have had a lot of hands-on experience with it, having done extensive field research along the US "line of march". 

Together with my wife and son, along with a close colleague of mine, we have collected a great quantity of relics from the battle; they have been photographed, GPSed, etc., to preserve the history as much as possible.  We are a bit racing against the clock, as modern "progress" has been eating up the historical areas--without regard to the history below--with much of it being lost.