Bullet and Shell Civil War Projectiles Forum

Author Topic: .36 & .31 Tranters  (Read 2062 times)

MeigsB

• Email
.36 & .31 Tranters
« on: May 09, 2020, 07:18:23 PM »
My son & I both dug Tranters recently.  His is the standard .36 with Sno-Cone nose, while mine is .31 with a “U” shaped nose.  I’ve not seen this variant.  Any ideas?

CarlS

• Administrator
    • Email
Re: .36 & .31 Tranters
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2020, 09:46:28 PM »
I'm a novice at bullets but looking to get better in that area.  Congrats on some nice finds.  To my untrained eye they look about the same other than different calibers.  I will be interested to hear if some of the knowledgeable lead heads can offer some insight.
Best,
Carl

Selma Hunter

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2020, 04:58:41 AM »
This posting prompted me to undertake a google search for "Tranter revolvers".

It produced an interesting hit in the Wikipedia listings.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tranter_(revolver)

I do hope all who visit here are doing well with the prevailing problems.

Lockridge
« Last Edit: May 10, 2020, 07:57:25 PM by CarlS »

emike123

• Administrator
    • Bullet and Shell
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2020, 11:15:18 AM »
I learned two things from the article Bill referenced, which is easier to get by this link:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tranter_(revolver)

Most importantly, I learned that Racquel Welch carried a Tranter in some long forgotten movie that I now need to watch while sheltering in place.

Secondly, I learned that these bullets came in a huge range of calibers despite only a couple showing up in the standard bullet reference books we usually use.  The closest in size to your U-shaped one would be the .32 caliber ones referenced, and there is also a .297.