Bullet and Shell Civil War Projectiles Forum

Author Topic: Gun flint question  (Read 5374 times)

tom buckley

• Email
Gun flint question
« on: September 13, 2015, 12:39:58 PM »
Recently, I was showing my grandkids some British and French Rev. War gun flints and I got to wondering what gun flints were used in the Civil War.
Does anyone have any information on Civil War period gun flints? Were they imported or locally produced??

John D. Bartleson Jr.

• Email
Re: Gun flint question
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2015, 02:34:03 PM »
Hello Tom, "Flint Knapping"
   I am not an expert on small arums but after watching this interesting video I would say they could definitely make their on gun flints.   But probably a time saver to buy them from England, at least before the Rev. War.
Regards,
John
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yzi9ksSn-ZQ
« Last Edit: September 13, 2015, 02:36:08 PM by John D. Bartleson Jr. »

tom buckley

• Email
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2015, 03:25:22 PM »
Thanks, John.
Really interesting video!

mccaul

• Email
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2015, 07:21:43 AM »
Some of the best flint in the world can be found at Flint Ridge, Ohio.  Obviously, the Confederacy would have had a very difficult time getting flint from there, but Union would not have.  Although, I do not know if the flint from there was used during the Civil War.

Jim T

• Thomas Publications
    • Email
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2015, 08:46:02 AM »
See the attached.  This is the flyer that goes along with the flints we sell from this box.  They are amber flints, but do not know their origin.

Jim T

tom buckley

• Email
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2015, 11:44:21 AM »
Thanks Jim,
Amber gun flints could be from France.
I believe that a few may have been made of domestic flint, but not in any large numbers. I have suspected that the majority may have been imported from Britain or France but am not sure.