Bullet and Shell Civil War Projectiles Forum

Author Topic: Definition and Explanation Needed  (Read 5837 times)

callicles

• Email
Definition and Explanation Needed
« on: March 24, 2018, 05:22:34 PM »
Could the experts here give me a better understanding of the difference between a driving band and a sabot on a Civil War artillery projectile ?  I think I may be confusing the two, or calling most of the items taking the barrel’s rifling as sabot. For example, the common lead band around a Hotchkiss: is that a sabot  or a driving band or do the two words mean the same thing?

Thanks!

speedenforcer

• Raulerson Relics
Re: Definition and Explanation Needed
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2018, 06:11:47 PM »
I thought they were the same but sabot being the official and more used terminology, but I AM NOT an expert.
It's not always "Survival of the fitest" sometimes the idiots get through.

pipedreamer65

• Email
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2018, 10:42:16 PM »
I would think they are two somewhat different things, but both perform the same desired task. Let's see what the experts say.

CarlS

• Administrator
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2018, 12:24:46 PM »
Off the top of my head I think that they are the same thing and that "sabot" is the French artillery term for the driving band although 'band' would not accurately fit a number of styles of sabot.  It kind of depends on what someone first heard reflecting what they tend to use.  I'll have to look in some artillery reference books to see what they say.
Best,
Carl

speedenforcer

• Raulerson Relics
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2018, 05:47:01 PM »
I like sabot.  :)
It's not always "Survival of the fitest" sometimes the idiots get through.

scottfromgeorgia

• Email
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2018, 06:19:31 PM »
I will nerd out for a minute:

A sabot is a clog from France or surrounding countries such as Belgium or Italy . Sabots are whole feet clogs.